New Milestones Reached

This past weekend I decided that I needed to buy shorts.

I haven’t worn shorts since middle school. This is partially because I never found any that fit me right/looked good on me. Partially because every summer event that I went to growing up required a certain length to shorts, and such length could not be found. Partially because I’ve been self-conscious of my knees and thighs.

Now that I’m an adult and have lost around 40 lbs, I’ve become considerably less self-conscious about my wrinkly, wide-set, and strong knees and stocky, muscular thighs. In fact, I’m sort of proud of them.

So I went out and bought my first pair of shorts….

… in a size 9.

YES! I hit single-digits!… BARELY!

I tried on several different styles among various different brands, and I’m certainly not a single-digit across the board (as can be expected), but I was able to squeeze into more than a few 8s and 9s. And I do mean squeeze. I’m not a “comfortable” single-digit size, but a little snug is okay when I’m confident the numbers are only going down. I consider my milestone reached, since I did buy the shorts, and I do wear them with no discomfort.

So I could say that I met two goals this weekend: 1) Get over my self-consciousness and wear shorts for the first time since middle school… 2) … in a size I haven’t worn since middle school.

Starting Weight: 176.8
Current Weight: 142.4

Lost this week: 1.4 lbs

Total Lost!: 34.4! (not including the four I lost on my own before Weight Watchers!)

Left Until Goal: 3.6 lbs!!

One response to “New Milestones Reached

  1. Pingback: Then and Now (Fat Pants!) « Turning Over a New Leaf

Leave a Reply

