Thanksgiving in June? Oh, I would…

You see, I just can’t get enough of the holidays. Really, I’m in the mood for Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas all year long. I listen to my Christmas tunes approximately 9 months out of the year. I find every excuse to bake something with pumpkin (like my pancakes this morning…), and I apparently was itching for turkey and dressing when I conjured up the idea of making this meatloaf…

First, start off by making a flax egg. Not because you have a thing against eggs, but because you only have one egg left and you’re saving it for breakfast tomorrow. Okay, mix 1 tbsp of ground flax seed with 3 tbsp of hot water and allow to sit for a few minutes until it’s “egg-y” in texture.

Next, grab your ground turkey (1 lb) and put in a bowl…

(take it out of the wrapping!)

Then measure out 1/4 cup of chopped onion (do yourself a favor. Buy them pre-chopped and frozen. Best thing I ever did.)…

Then chop up a 1/4 cup of celery.

Measure out 1 oz each of cornmeal, panko bread crumbs, and old fashioned

oats.

Now, 1 tsp of rubbed sage and 1/2 tsp of dried thyme.

And this stuff, to taste.

Now everyone in the pool!

Mix until well combined (normal people use their hands for proper mixing. I’m a weenie and used a spoon), and spread into a loaf pan. Bake at 375 degrees for about 45 minutes.

When the loaf is just about cooked, get started on the gravy.

Melt 1 tbsp of butter in a pan over medium heat. Yes, I said butter. If this were really a pan gravy, we would use the drippings from the roast bird, but we’re not roasting a bird, so butter it is. DO IT!

When melted, add in 1 tbsp of flour and whisk until smooth. If you watch a lot of Food Network like I do, you’ll know by now that I’m making a roux. What you don’t know is that this is the VERY FIRST TIME I’ve ever done this. Exciting, huh?!

Once smooth and thick, add in 1/2 cup of chicken broth or stock. You get extra cool points if the stock is homemade.

Add a dash of poultry seasoning, salt, and pepper to taste. Whisk until it looks like gravy. Like this!…

Spread over loaf!

This is actually tomorrow’s dinner, so I didn’t have more than a bite (which also means you’re not getting any pretty plating pictures until then!). To check it, you know! I couldn’t post a recipe without tasting it, could I? And I’ve already had dinner, so I sacrificed some daily calories for you. Grateful, much? 😉

Really, it’s good. If there was anything I’d do differently, it be that I’d include some sweet turkey Italian sausage and diced apples, since it honestly tastes a little one-dimensional. Actual cornbread crumbs would be awesome as well.

Serves 6
165 calories per serving

Leave a Reply

