Eating Healthy is Affordable

Oh, what a day! I’ve hardly been able to be on the computer all day, so it’ll be interesting tonight!

Started off the day with that fried egg on asparagus I’ve been talking so much about. Edgar was in the mood for biscuits the other day so he looked around in the Taste of Home cookbook for a recipe. He found one, but it required an egg. We only had that one egg, and you know how I felt about that one egg. After him getting a bit upset, then me selflessly offering my egg, then him resigning to not cook them at all and his upset-ness turning to “disappointment,” I found a recipe for egg-less biscuits on the very next page. All was well. Especially since I had him half-and-half the flour with whole wheat pastry flour and unbleached all-purpose. I’m typically not a fan of biscuits unless they’re drenched in honey, but these were GOOD. Another one not pictured ended up in my mouth before leaving for work.

Lunch was a whirlwind. Nothing interesting. A turkey+avocado+swiss+arugula+sprouts sandwich and a peach.

After work Edgar and I decided to forgo the workout for some very carefully planned grocery shopping. You see, my take-home pay this period is practically nothing, so we’re having to live off just $40/week for groceries this pay period. Thank the Lord it’s only 14 days until the next payday…

But I think this really is a lesson learned. I did have to buy a lot more “conventional” stuff than I usually do, like non-organic spinach, carrots, yogurt, and canned tomatoes. I also bought russet potatoes, and I really prefer red or sweet potatoes. But I think this really proved that one can really buy healthy, nutritious food on a strict budget. I’m tired of people complaining that eating healthy is “too expensive.” It’s not. I got all of this for less than $40.

  • Russet potatoes
  • Spinach
  • Vanilla lowfat yogurt
  • Wheat French bread (bigger loaf and much cheaper than bread aisle selections. I prefer Ezekiel bread, but I’m going to have to take one for the team this period!)
  • Bell peppers
  • No-salt-added diced tomatoes
  • Diced tomatoes with green chiles
  • Tomato paste
  • Harvestland chicken (I can’t bring myself to buy conventional chicken, ever, so I’m glad this was on sale!)
  • Ground turkey (don’t like buying this often, since I know I’d not like seeing how the meat was processed, but since there’s no other options…)
  • Ground bison (for the chili I’m making on Friday!)
  • Poblano chile, for the chili!
  • Strawberries (on sale for $1!)
  • Zucchini
  • Pinto beans (dried are cheaper than canned because soaking and cooking them creates nearly double to volume! Plus, no salt added!)
  • Dried chickpeas
  • Blueberries (on sale for $1!)
  • Frozen broccoli (cheap as dirt; cheaper than fresh per ounce)
  • Bananas (always cheap, and peanut butter+banana sandwiches = perfect cheap breakfast, lunch, OR snack!)
  • Cage free eggs (Same issue as with chicken. It’s only nickels more expensive than conventional. For that price I can afford a clearer conscience)
  • 2 lbs of carrots (my beloved organic carrots were out of stock. organic is only 12 cents more expensive than conventional, so I prefer to go ahead and support the organic industry, but the 2 lb bag was cheaper, and better yet, in stock, so I figured the more fiscally endowed members of society could foot my portion of organic industry support this pay period)

So there you have it. You have no excuse to not buy healthy food. If you make less than me and are supporting as many people as me (just two), then you should be getting government assistance. I can say that because technically I should be getting government assistance too, but that’s another issue altogether.

Here’s my Thanksgiving meatloaf! I was originally going to just eat a slice of the loaf and call it a night, but how could I photograph Thanksgiving meatloaf without proper autumnal side dishes?

That would be steamed broccoli and mashed butternut squash on the other side. I mixed the squash with a little brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and cloves. Yum! The loaf really tasted a lot like turkey dressing today.

Okay folks. It’s 12:39 am. It’s quittin’ time.

One response to “Eating Healthy is Affordable

  1. Vici Carpenter

    Michelle,

    Just wanted to say “good job” on your lifelong adventure of eating healthy foods. We are in an organic produce co-op which helps me stay on track….now if everyone else in my family would willingly participate it would be so much easier (and fun!). You go, girl!

Leave a Reply

