Happy Birthday, USA!

Okay, so I’m a bit late.

The majority of my holiday was spent as any other Sunday would be spent. We went to church and ate Mexican food afterwords (okay, that’s not commonplace, but whatever). I did eat cactus for the first time, which was pretty cool.

I ordered the carne asada with sauteed onions and catcus (they have the texture of green bell peppers and the flavor is more similar to green beans), with rice, beans, an iceberg-lettuce-and-single-tomato-slice-salad, and two flour tortillas. I looooOoOoOooove Taqueria Jalisco’s flour tortillas. I had them in mind when I was making my own tortillas on Saturday.

I ate all my cactus/onion mixture (with a fury, I might add), half my carne asada, all my beans, and 1.5 of the tortillas. I never eat the iceberg pile I get on my plate at Mexican restaurants. I am just not a fan. The rice and the rest of my carne asada I took home and ate later.

Around 5 I figured I needed to do something festive, so I put together these parfaits. Yum!

Vanilla yogurt, blueberries, and strawberries. My mom used to make a sheet cake that was decorated with blueberries, strawberries, and whipped cream to resemble the American flag. I don’t think she’s made it since I was in elementary school!

I ate mine after evening service, topped with ancient granola.

The fireworks show was pretty good! I’ve been in Plainview for three summers now, and this is the first time I’ve seen the fireworks here. Last year I went with a group of friends to the drive-in theatre in Lubbock, and the year before I went to Fort Worth to visit my family. We almost didn’t get to see them this year, since it’s been raining cats and dogs all week thanks to the hurricane on the coast, but alas, the sky cleared just enough at just the right time.

One of these days Edgar and I will live out in the country, and we’ll set off our own fireworks at our own parties on 4th of July and New Years.

Off to find something to eat and figure out what I’m going to do with myself on my day off!

2 responses to “Happy Birthday, USA!

  1. yum! all that food looks amazing!

  2. Pingback: Milestone « Turning Over a New Leaf

Leave a Reply

