Steel Cut Oats Experiment, Pt. 1

Do you wonder why I haven’t been posting dinner? Because I haven’t cooked dinner since last Friday. That’s right, I’ve had a fridge full of leftovers for a week and tonight was when I finally finished eating the remnants of dinners past. Tomorrow will be something fresh!

I just finished whipping up tomorrow’s breakfast. I love when I can get something prepped in advance and wake up to breakfast already (mostly) ready. It’s been a while since I made crockpot steel cut oats, and since I had a can of evaporated milk sitting in the pantry all lonely and neglected, I figured I needed to pull out the crockpot.

First, put 3 cups of water in a large class container that will fit inside your crockpot. I just happen to be blessed to have a Pyrex 8-cup measuring cup that just barely (perfectly??) fits into my slow cooker.

I don’t typically use tap water because our tap water is nasty, but I didn’t have enough purified water to make up three cups. So I made do.

Next, put in 1 can (12 oz) of fat free evaporated milk.

Next, add in 3/4 cup of steel cut oats.

Notice I said steel cut. Not rolled/old fashioned. Not instant. Nothing in a packet. I specified steel cut because that better be the only kind you use for this application. Don’t use any other kind unless you like eating paste for breakfast. Am I clear? Okay, good.

This is what steel cut looks like, by the way.

Next, add about 1/4 tsp of salt, then put the whole container in the crockpot. Fill the cooker with enough water to reach half-way up the glass container.

Cover and set to low overnight.

See ya for breakfast in the morning! I hope this turns out well. I’ve honestly never used this quasi-double-broil method before. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

