A Conclusion

Finally a conclusion to my steel cut oats experiment. After several more hours on the heat, my oatmeal finally acquired the correct consistency.

It was a rather whirlwind day at work, so I was glad to come home after Zumba (in the rain!) to a dish I somewhat consider comfort food. I think it’s the idea of a warm, tomato-y, one-pot dish that makes it such. It’s a variation on Weight Watchers’ “Provencal Style Vegetable-Chickpea Stew” which is really just a quickie version of ratatouille with chickpeas in it.

Really, it couldn’t be simpler. It’s sauteed zucchini, onions, bell peppers, garlic, and tomatoes with some cooked chickpeas, tomato paste, worcestershire sauce, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper stirred in.

With some grated parmesan on top. Sometimes I replace salt with a good grating of parmigiano-reggiano.

Now to spend the rest of the evening on the couch watching Food Network by candlelight and rain showers.

2 responses to “A Conclusion

  1. Monique@She's Going The Distance

    I’ve been wanting to make ratatouille forEVER now 🙂 Glad to hear it was simple!! I always feel like it’s an autumn dish though with all the squash and veggies 🙂

    As soon as I stock up on these veggies, I’m going to attempt it!

  2. yum, your meals look great!

Leave a Reply

