Protein Nation

I’ve work out pretty regularly (I will update my workouts page one of these days!), so I realized recently that I could benefit from more protein in my diet. Lately I’ve been eating a lot of vegetarian meals simply because they’re cheap, and in the grand scheme of things, people don’t need THAT much protein, and there are plenty of sources in vegetables. In fact, if I was not working out, or not working out with the intensity and frequency that I do, my protein intake is perfectly fine and sustainable. However, since I’m on a lower-calorie “diet” and I do work out pretty vigorously most days of the week, eating more meat could give me more protein per ounce of food and fewer calories overall than trying to make up that same amount of protein from plant sources (which typically have equal amounts or more of fat or carbohydrates along with the protein, therefore more calories).

So I went on a search for meat in my fridge. Honestly, all the meat I have is raw. Except for the lone piece of thin-cut cooked chicken I’ve kept in the freezer for a while now for an occasion like this.

My French bread got moldy so I had to make do with the last piece (heel) of my Ezekiel bread, and even that was a little crumbled. But that’s okay. Ezekiel bread has more protein in it, and honestly I like the flavor better!

Wound up with an open-faced sandwich with pesto, swiss cheese, spinach, red pepper, and that small piece of chicken, with a very bruised (and juicy!) peach on the side.

Hmm. Not a lot of food. Think I might have to grab of piece of chocolate from my stash to make up for lost calories. šŸ˜‰

Now to pack some edamame for my afternoon snack and see how much of the kitchen I can clean before heading back to work. It’ll be a mad rush to get the house clean and food prepared for tonight! We’re having BREAKFAST for our group dinner tonight, and I’m making a lot of stuff from scratch, so be sure to check back later!

2 responses to “Protein Nation

  1. Monique@She's Going The Distance

    Breakfast for dinner is one of my favorite things, EVER!!! Except, maybe, for chocolate šŸ™‚

  2. That sandwich looks so fantastic šŸ™‚

    ~Alyssa

Leave a Reply

