Grown Up Lunch

I grew up eating peanut butter and jelly sandwiches (on Mrs. Baird’s white bread) for lunch. Scratch that. Peanut butter sandwiches. Somewhere along the lines I discovered that I’m really not much of a fan of grape jelly and nixed it altogether. Sometime in high school, though, my sisters and I got experimental and decided to smear apple butter in our peanut butter sandwiches. A new bond was formed.

I still prefer peanut butter and fruit butter sandwiches, but recently I did discover fig jam and Crofter’s Superfruit spread, and they’ve made their appearance in more than a few lunches recently.

Today was inspired by “grown up” versions of the lunches I might have had growing up. Peter Pan peanut butter and grape jelly on white bread turned into Naturally More and Crofters on sprouted grain bread. Regular potato chips turned into kale chips. A soda turned into flavored sparkling water (this grapefruit flavor is my favorite so far!). A chocolate pudding cup turned into Touch of Sea Salt dark chocolate. A fruit cup became a whole clementine, and I added raw carrots for good measure. I didn’t really grow up eating vegetables at lunch.

Everyone, these are kale chips. Kale chips are your friends! And they’re darned simple to make! Just pull the leaves from the stem, put on a baking tray and spray with nonstick spray, sprinkle with salt, and bake at 425 until the edges are brown and they look mostly crispy. I won’t tell you how long that takes because you just have to watch it. Somewhere in the neighborhood of 5-15 minutes.

2 responses to “Grown Up Lunch

  1. I adore this post. 🙂 It has my favorite foods! Naturally More’s the best for the “stick to the roof of your mouth” PB, don’t you think? Apple Butter’s the bomb. And I see a future love affair going on with me and kale chips. Do they really taste like regular chips?? I’ve seen them everywhere in the blog world but still havent tried them!! I’m putting that leafy goodness on my shopping list right now.

    • They don’t taste JUST like potato chips, but kinda. They have the crunchy, salty flavor, but otherwise they really don’t taste like anything. I actually prefer kale chips over potato chips, but I was never a big potato chip fan to begin with. 🙂 I highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

