The Expensive Side of the Coin

Remember what I said about healthy eating being affordable?

Well, there’s two sides to everything. Just like not eating healthy can be expensive, eating healthy can also be quite expensive.

I hate when this happens. After living off so small a grocery budget, we’ve depleted our pantry, eaten down our freezer, and emptied our fridge. To add to the mix, a lot of meat was on sale. This led to a very expensive grocery trip. Scrap that. Two normal-sized grocery trips and one very big grocery trip. I hang my head in shame at the sight of my receipts. But look at all the loot!

  • Joe T. Garcia’s salsa
  • Green chiles
  • Bananas
  • Organic whole wheat pastry flour (my secret weapon for any and all baking endeavors)
  • Organic spinach
  • Hint of Lime tortilla chips (so Edgar could use up the salsa we still had in the fridge. By the way, these chips and all the old salsa are already gone…)
  • Guiltless Gourmet Chili Lime tortilla chips (more on these later!)
  • Garden of Eatin No Salt Added Blue Chips (again, more on these later!)
  • Two packages of bison ribeyes. They were on sale for half off! I’ve been wanting to try my favorite cut of meat in bison form, but they’ve always been so expensive, until now!
  • Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder (for cupcakes this weekend!)
  • Alvaredo St. sprouted grain bread (it was cheaper than Ezekiel bread!)
  • Buttermilk biscuit dough
  • Brown Turkey figs (OH MY GOSH I FOUND THEM IN LUBBOCK!)
  • Dried black beans
  • Shallots
  • Blueberries
  • Pedro’s tamales (Love. Love. Love. They’re local and all natural. And yummy. And I can eat three of them for 250 calories!)

  • 90/10 ground beef from Paidom meats, a local organic/grass-fed ranch!
  • Avocadoes
  • Local green beans!
  • Mexican oregano
  • Comino (cumin) seeds
  • Starbucks Via packets
  • Bread flour
  • Unsalted chicken stock
  • Brisket (more on this to come. If I had my choice, I would have gotten the bison brisket at the meat counter at Market Street. Except that we ended up going to the Market Street without the meat counter. Oops. At least it was on sale)
  • Frozen broccoli
  • Frozen chopped onions
  • Local peaches!!!!!!

For dinner I pulled out the salmon. I like the idea of eating salmon or tuna once a week for the omega-3’s, but Edgar likes fish only sparingly. I guess this will be a challenge to see how many different salmon recipes I can come up with to make eating salmon regularly not such a drag. And today it was Asian-style.

I stir-fried the broccoli, zucchini, and bell peppers in some sesame oil and low-sodium soy sauce. For the salmon, I cooked it simply on the griddle with salt, pepper, and a little butter and spooned some homemade teriyaki sauce (soy sauce, sesame oil, honey, ginger, and garlic) over top about a minute before moving it to the plate. Paired it all with a little simple brown rice. It was probably the tastiest way I’ve ever prepared salmon, and it was certainly the simplest! Edgar was a fan, too!

2 responses to “The Expensive Side of the Coin

  1. had to click and zoom in on ur loot!! WOWWWW girl! pass me over the tamales, coffee, blue corn chips, and hershey’s cocoa powder!! mmmmm ❤

  2. I think it is truth that healthy eating can be expensive or cheap, but so can all kinds of eating. Food is just variable that way!

Leave a Reply

