Distracted

I’ve been awfully distracted lately.

By this!

This is the fireplace in our new house! Yes, it appears we are moving in just under two months. We’re excited to have a real bona-fide house, and daydreams of gas stoves, wood-burning fireplaces, walk-in pantries, and yards full of pecan trees have truly consumed our thoughts as of late, but I did manage to take long enough breaks during the day to shove something in my mouth.

Breakfast

Several months back I had the bright idea to use the rest of my liquid egg-whites in a massive omelette and eat it with a muffin and a glass of milk. The resulting breakfast had over 40 grams of protein and kept me satisfied all morning. I found myself this morning in possession of a large carton of egg whites and decided to somewhat replicate it into a burrito of sorts.

  • 3/4 cup of egg whites
  • Big handful of spinach
  • 1 oz grated gruyere
  • Dried basil
  • La Tortilla Factory large tortilla

I’ve gotten better at my burrito-wrapping!

If I had mushrooms, I would have put those in there too, and I think it needed black pepper and nutmeg, and probably one whole egg. But it was still pretty good and REALLY FILLING. I had breakfast at 7:50 AM and by noon, I was STILL not hungry. I need 40+ grams of protein in one sitting more often!

Lunch

Even though I wasn’t hungry, I knew I would be famished in a few hours if I didn’t go ahead and eat. I made a sandwich with sprouted grain bread, Naturally More peanut butter, and this extremely ripe banana:

Whoa, baby!

And a side of organic baby carrots + homemade hummus and a really juicy local peach.

Honestly, I prefer eating hand-cut carrot sticks over pre-made baby carrots. I find the baby carrots a bit too thick.

Snack

I’m pretty sure this lunch filled me up pretty well too. At 4:30 I decided to dig out my afternoon snack simply because I was getting the slightest tinge of hunger and I was going to be working out before eating dinner.

Stoneyfield Organic French Vanilla lowfat yogurt, plus the rest of my frozen cherries, and some Kashi Cinnamon Harvest cereal, crumbled up for crunch.

I’m pretty sure most that box of Cinnamon Harvest has been eaten out of hand. I think I’ve probably eaten two legitimate bowls of cereal out of it.

And I now find myself out of frozen fruit. And fresh fruit, except for my clementines. Yes, I bought clementine out of season. Forgive me, I was weak!

Workout

This evening Edgar and I managed to drag our lazy bums to the YMCA to get our memberships finalized and pump some iron. I do tons and tons of cardio, but I haven’t made a habit out of strength training because I don’t really know how to make a workout out of strength exercises. So I enlisted the help of the Fitnessista and began Day 1 of her Summer Shape Up program. And let me tell you, my arms are going to feel it tomorrow! I don’t know if my abs and back will feel it, but I’ll let you know in 36 hrs! 😉

Dinner

We eventually got around to dinner at McDonalds during out Wednesday night social gathering. It’s not blog-worthy.

Now to go dream of large dining rooms and endless storage…

Leave a Reply

