Weekend Fun, Part 1: Plainview Farmers Market

Yes, it’s been a few days. Between trips to Lubbock, smoking a brisket, the internet going out, and lounging around almost all day yesterday, I just didn’t have time to blog! 😉

This is going to have to take a few posts since so much happened on Saturday to try to fit it all in one post!

First of all, I finally woke up early enough on a Saturday to visit the Farmer’s Market. The original plan was to go to one in Lubbock since I was convinced Plainview had entirely dropped the ball this year on the Farmer’s Market. Apparently, I was wrong. While they did fail to put up a sign until LAST WEEK, they’ve been congregating in the Tractor Supply parking lot for several weeks (or months??) now. The reason I haven’t seen them is that they sell out FAST. I showed up only 30-45 minutes after they set up, and they were already out of several kinds of produce!

The market is made up of a few farming families all selling their goods from the tailgates of pickups, trailers, and a few tables.

The majority of the produce consisted of beans, zucchini (which grow like weeds here in late summer), summer squash, pattypan squash, jalepenos, and a few varieties of thai chiles, onions, and tomatoes.

I managed to sneak out of there with approximately a POUND of fresh jalepenos, a few tomatoes, and another POUND of purple-hull fresh beans. I’ve never ever cooked fresh beans (with the except of typical green beans, which need not be hulled), and I haven’t the slightest idea what to do with these. Any suggestions before I scour the world wide web???

And before I leave you for the evening, I must show you what my mother in law sent my husband back to Plainview with last Thursday night. While it doesn’t look like much at first glance, do note that that white squash (WHAT IS IT?? Spaghetti Squash???) is bigger than the average butternut squash, and that monstrous zucchini is close to two feet in length.

Good to know I won’t starve from lack of vegetables over the next few weeks!

I look forward to going back to the Farmer’s Market on Wednesday. I overheard that there will be bell peppers soon! And I’m planning my Italian Sausage and Pepper Penne for this coming Friday night dinner!

Coming soon: Weekend Fun, Part 2: Texas Food Expo, Market Street!

and

Weekend Fun, Part 3: Texas Barbecue Night!

Leave a Reply

