Casserole Kind of Week

For the last week or so I’ve been on a casserole kick. Honestly, I haven’t cooked a whole lot in the past week, but between last Saturday’s impromptu enchilada lasagna (which I didn’t so much like, but all my guests loved. Go figure.) and tonight’s dish, and the fact that not much else has been cooked since, it fits.

Last week we had a faculty/staff development meeting and lunch was catered for everyone. It was a choice between chicken or beef enchilada casserole, and for the first time ever, I asked for the chicken. It was darker than the beef. Scary. Anyway, everyone kept calling the chicken version King Ranch Chicken, so it really got me curious as to the recipe. I think my mom made King Ranch Chicken for us just a couple of times when we were kids, but at the time I was a picky kid that didn’t like peppers. Now I’m a different kind of picky adult that loves peppers. So I looked up a recipe.

I shamelessly stole the recipe from Homesick Texan, naturally. You can read the recipe here, but I did make some minor adjustments. For example, I didn’t use all that oil to cook the chicken. I used a nonstick skillet and a modest spritz of canola oil. I didn’t have chile powder (ground ancho chiles–I didn’t feel like grinding the whole ones I had on hand), so I used a smaller amount of chili powder (a blend of spices used to make Chili Con Carne). Also, I used fat free half & half and light sour cream, and I’m positive that I’d never know the difference. For cheese, I used a standard Mexican shredded cheese blend. Oh, and I didn’t have red bell pepper, so I just doubled the portion of poblano peppers. And I didn’t use a can of Rotel–I used a can of unsalted diced tomatoes plus a can of Hatch green chiles.

Okay, so I subbed a lot, but the bones are the same, the flavor should be about the same as well.

Everything is tastier with melted cheese. I’m a big fan.

Coming soon! Blog updates! I’ve got so many ideas! I’d love to incorporate more of my art and photography background into the blog. I have my bachelor’s degree in visual art, y’know. 🙂 I’d also love to do some home and garden type stuff, but I don’t have much time to devote to such things at the current time, but maybe soon! 😉

Leave a Reply

