Zucchini Bread Pancakes with Gingerbread Tea Syrup

This morning I woke up inspired by Jenna’s recent post about her Cinnamon Pear Dumplings with Ginger Tea Syrup and decided I wanted to make a zucchini bread-style pancakes with some sort of chai tea-infused syrup swirled into the pancakes themselves. Of course, as I was mixing up the batter, I realized the texture wouldn’t be right for such ambitious swirl-age. So I stuck with making a simple syrup. I also decided to go with my Gingerbread Herb Tea instead of chai, because I wanted the flavor to stand out a little more.

Normally Edgar doesn’t like me making “creative” flavors of pancakes, but he loved these! He even loved the syrup! While it’s not considered a full serving of vegetables or anything, I do enjoy finding ways to fit vegetables into my breakfast. It makes me feel better about what I feed myself and my family. And it helps use up the mountain of zucchini we have in our house!

Zucchini Bread Pancakes with Gingerbread Tea Syrup
(Adapted from Cooking Light)

For the Pancakes:

  • 5.6 oz of whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/8 tsp fresh grated nutmeg
  • dash of ground cloves
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup 1% milk
  • 1 tbsp canola oil
  • 1/2 tsp each rum extract, almond extract, and grade B maple syrup (actual recipe calls for1.5 tsp vanilla, which I didn’t have. I do suggest using the vanilla instead, though)
  • 1/2 cup egg substitute
  • 1 lb grated zucchini

For the Syrup

  • 3/4 cup water
  • two tea bags–I used Gingerbread flavored herbal tea
  • dash of ground ginger
  • 1 cup sugar (I used half honey and half turbinado sugar since I was out of regular white granulated sugar. I suggest going with granulated so it will syrup-ify quicker)

Heat 3/4 cup water in a small saucepan over high heat and bring to boil. Take off heat and add tea bags. Let steep for about 5 minutes. After the water has taken on a strong color, remove the tea bags and add the sugar and ginger. Move the saucepan back to the heat and allow the mixture to simmer (with the lid off!) until the sauce takes on the consistency of pancake syrup. Remove from heat. Do note that the syrup with thicken as it cools.

Meanwhile, combine the first 8 ingredients (the dry ingredients) in a medium bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the milk, oil, extracts, and egg substitute. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until just incorporated. Don’t worry about lumps. Fold in the grated zucchini.

Heat a nonstick pan or griddle over medium heat and spray with cooking spray or lube down with butter. Whatever you prefer. Pour 1/4 cup of batter onto the pan and spread around a little with a spatula so you have a nice wide pancake instead of a big, thick blob of batter. When batter starts to bubble all over on top (after about a minute or two), it’s time to flip. Cook on the other side for about a minute. Once both sides are medium golden brown, move finished pancakes to a plate. Repeat until all the batter is gone.

Enjoy with the syrup drizzled over pancakes!

Makes about 14 pancakes (1/4 cup batter each pancake)

Per serving (3 pancakes, w/o syrup):
258 calories (6 WW points)
14.13 g fat
20.88 g cholesterol
244.26 g sodium
2.49 g fiber
15.15 g sugar
9.45 g protein

(I didn’t calculate the syrup because I can’t exactly account for how much you let your sauce reduce. If you’re counting calories or points, I suggest using  a generic full-calorie pancake syrup for your calculations.)

One response to “Zucchini Bread Pancakes with Gingerbread Tea Syrup

  1. I’m gonna have to try these someday

Leave a Reply

