Steak and Potatoes

Since I’ve been sick for the past two days with some sort of cold/allergies/respiratory infection that I keep getting at the same time every year, my motivation to cook has been greatly depressed. However, this evening I managed to whip up something tasty and quick.

I found myself in possession of a cut of ribeye. I stole the idea of a wild mushroom encrusted steak from Jenna and proceeded to make my own version with porcini mushrooms and black peppercorns. The results were delicious, wildly flavorful, and went from fridge to mouth in half an hour. I told you it was quick. When it a rush, sear it. Really.

First off, I ground up some dried porcini mushrooms and black peppercorns in my spice (old coffee) grinder.

Then I cut the big hunk of angus ribeye into one larger piece and one smaller piece. Patting the meat dry with a paper towel is also a good idea, but this steak had been in my freezer for a while, so it didn’t need much patting.

Then brush, spray, or rub with a little olive oil, then rub in some sea salt, and the mushroom/pepper mixture on both sides of each steak.

Heat a dry (only moisture being the oil that’s leftover from cleaning and curing it properly. I’m assuming you’ve done this) cast iron skillet to PIPING HOT, and then toss in the meat. Once it’s in the skillet, DON’T TOUCH IT. Let it sear. It will be ready to turn when the bottom side releases from the skillet on its own. Meanwhile, go blow your nose, because if your kitchen is anything like mine and has zero ventilation, you just got a whole bunch of fragrant-y smoke up your already irritated nose.

Whatever time you spent on the first side, spend on the other side. Then move the steaks onto an oven-safe plate and continue heating in the oven until you’ve reached your desired doneness.

Once done, let rest on the counter for a while. I’ve heard somewhere in the ballpark of 20-30 minutes. DON’T TOUCH IT. The juices inside need to rest and redistribute. Resist the urge to cut it!

You may, however, gawk in anticipation.

(Hubba, hubba!)

Now, take that same cast iron pan and heat to “piping hot” again. Toss in bite-sized cuts of potatoes that have been tossed with Italian seasoning and sea salt. You may also need to add more oil. Add it as needed.

It should look like this after about 20 minutes (whaddaya know, about the length of time needed to let the meat rest!). I would recommend parboiling the potatoes or nuking them for a few minutes before cutting and pan-roasting them so that they’ll be sure to be cooked through before the outsides burn, but I tossed the pieces in without thinking about it. I’m not dead yet, so I guess it’s okay.

Check out the portion differences! I typically give Edgar 3/5 of whatever I cook for two, except green veggies, which are usually divided evenly.

And now I must go find some medication to stop this infernal sinus drainage. Ughh.

6 responses to “Steak and Potatoes

  1. I love the side by side comparison…I usually give my husband dinner on a large dinner plate while I eat on the salad size. It works out perfect.

    Your story is very inspiring! Life is so much easier when you stop counting calories…trust me. I’ve been there and I know you can do it too.

    Looking forward to reading more!

    • Thanks! It has turned out to be easier than expected. Some of my pants are still a little snug, but I figure my changing habits and behaviors will do me more good than actively cutting calories at this point. πŸ™‚

  2. You have now made me want to go out and buy a cast iron skillet! Look at that crust!

  3. Even though I’m not longer a red-meat eater, those looks absolutely delicious! And the rosemary potatoes..mmmmm πŸ™‚ Love the photos, too!

  4. Hope you’re feeling better! That meal looks delicious!

  5. Cooking steak in a pan take SKILL. Its so hard to keep it tender and moist. But that meal looks great πŸ˜€ Hope you’re feeling better.

    This is my first time stopping by, by the way :] have a good one!

Leave a Reply

