Harvest Salad and My Very First GIVEAWAY!

This afternoon I made the best salad.

Before I go into detail about the salad itself, let me just make a confession.

I’m not a huge fan of salad.

Yes, I like eating well and all and I believe everyone should get their leafy greens every day and all that. I just have never been one to go nuts over a salad. I order it rarely from any restaurant, and unlike so many other healthy living food bloggers, I don’t crave it. Pretty much ever.

I think it comes from the fact that I can’t stand most raw vegetables. Cucumbers? No thanks. Tomatoes? Preferably not. Carrots? Only occasionally. Broccoli? Celery? BLLLLLECHHH!

But I do like fruit, cheese, and nuts in my salad. Quite a lot, actually, but for so long I felt that I needed to steer toward all-veggie salads, because as you may very well know, fruit, cheese, and nuts can hike up the calorie count so fast.

But after seeing Jenna’s recent post about her Harvest Salad, I said to heck with it. I’ll embrace my fruity, cheesy, nutty salad love and make one of my own!

I started with some salad greens I acquired through the FoodBuzz Tastemaker Program.

Winner.

But it only got better. I tossed in some sauteed butternut squash, a sliced apple (right off our apple tree!), some toasted, salted pepitas (pumpkin seeds, which I dug out of those mini pumpkins I stuffed last week) and blue cheese.

Oh so colorful!

Ah, but it gets EVEN BETTER. I mixed up a quick dressing of balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil and dribbled it over the whole salad.

Oh, have mercy.

Crisp apples. Crunchy seeds. Creamy, salty blue cheese. And I never would have imagined it, but the balsamic soaking into the apple made for some pretty incredibly flavor combinations!

I was planning leftover black beans for lunch tomorrow, but I just might make this salad again! This is definitely crave-able!

And because I love this salad (and you) so much, I’m giving away 5 coupons for free bags of Fresh Express mixed greens (any variety in the blue, green or fuscia bags).

To enter, just leave a comment answering this question:

What do you like putting in your salads?

Winner will be randomly chosen and announced on Friday!

5 responses to “Harvest Salad and My Very First GIVEAWAY!

  1. I like strawberries in my salad.

  2. Blue cheese crumbles, fresh apple, roasted honey pecans with a good balsamic vinegar and olive oil dressing. Yum 🙂

  3. I love salads in general, but I love a great, veggie filled salad with some cottage cheese and sunflowers seeds on top. No dressing needed!

  4. I love sweet and salty in salads. Cranberries and feta instantly comes to mind. Love.

  5. Pingback: The Case for Coke | Turning Over a New Leaf

Leave a Reply

