I LOVE SUN HARVEST!

Folks, I’ve found something better than Market Street.

(Did I just say that?)

Yes, it’s true. It’s Sun Harvest Farmers Market in Lubbock, and it opened just this past Wednesday. I imagine that it’s something like Trader Joe’s. Specialty & local food, insanely cheap prices. I was in heaven!

Wait, what??

( Please excuse my “people of Walmart” hair. I didn’t know Aubrey was taking pictures of me.)

And I have to say, opening week is the BEST time to go because it means I scored HUGE on a TON of quality produce!

  • Texas oranges
  • Bananas (5 lbs for $1!!! would have bought more if they weren’t all already perfectly ripe!)
  • Frozen organic mixed bell peppers (Only $2.50!)
  • Asparagus ($1/lb!! That’s cheaper than IN SEASON!)
  • Organic broccoli ($1/lb!!)
  • Rosie’s Organic Free Range Whole Chicken (The best deal! 5 lbs for $5!!!)
  • Rosie’s Organic Free Range Chicken Thighs (1 lb for $1!!!)
  • Muir Glen Organic Canned Tomatoes (Buy One Get One Free, making them $1 each!!)

  • Organic bell peppers (normally I won’t buy organic bell peppers because they’re typically $2 per pepper. Too rich for my blood! But this combo mix was $5. Pricier than the $3.65 I normally pay, but for organic, it’s kinda worth it!)
  • Unsweetened applesauce
  • Sweet onions
  • Bulk dried cranberries
  • Bulk arborio rice (just a little)
  • Organic Grade B Maple Syrup
  • Organic Green Beans ($3!!)
  • Delicata squash (never mind I already had one, but I had this “have my cake and eat it too” thing going on with it!)
  • Organic red potatoes ($5 for 3 lbs. Could have gotten organic russets at $1/lb, but I prefer reds and I honestly don’t need 5 lbs of potatoes at any one time)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Gnarly Head California Merlot
  • Organic Whole Wheat Pastry Flour (BIG BAG!)
  • Bulk brussels sprouts!
  • Canola oil

Before checking out Edgar gave me a concerned look and said, “this is definitely over $100” (that being our predetermined budget), but amazingly enough, I came in under budget! By a LOT! I got all of this for $81.75!!!!

That’d probably be a lot for any normal week’s worth of groceries, but this actually has to last me two weeks. I was concerned that $100 wouldn’t be enough, but I ended up with a LOT of food! If I had gotten this exact same food at Walmart, I would have definitely gone over budget!

Sun Harvest is now my go-to grocery store in Lubbock!

5 responses to “I LOVE SUN HARVEST!

  1. My mom actually works there, so I knew they were coming to Lubbock a couple months ago. Can’t wait to shop!

  2. I went for the first time last night and spent 30 minutes in the bulk bin aisle. So overwhelmed. But I loved it!

  3. I love that store! I can’t wait to head over there tomorrow to pick up groceries for the next week. I didn’t get a good look at the meat prices on Friday because they were packed from the front to the back of the store but judging by your chicken prices they look pretty reasonable.

  4. hahahahahahahaha I can’t believe I missed this post & your comment about your “people of Walmart” hair … I’m so glad that I’m not the one who uses “people of Walmart” as an adjective!

    also, your hair really doesn’t look bad at all! but thank you a very large amount for the laugh!

    • Hah! Thanks Courtney. That picture doesn’t really do my hair “people of walmart” justice, but the other pictures taken and the mood it was in that evening probably would. I had washed my hair the night before and let it dry really weird so it was rather gross-feeling by that evening. Plus I had a motion-sickness-induced headache from digging around for my cherry in my Route 44 Sonic Diet Cherry Limeade as soon as we left the house, so I wanted to put my hair up because of the gross-ness, but I had a headache, which is sooo not pony-tail-friendly. So I left it loose-ish and haphazard. Haha!

Leave a Reply

