Revisit

This past month FoodBuzz directed me to Foodzie (an Etsy for food!) to participate in a free month of their tasting program. A few weeks later, I got this in the mail!

Balsamic Honey Vinegar, Organic Grade A Maple Syrup, Butter Crunch Candy (which SO didn’t last long! It was so good! Especially the rosemary-almond flavor!), a warren pear, and Garlic Onion Pistachios. 🙂

And yesterday I decided to make use of the balsamic honey vinegar and the warren pear and revisit my harvest salad.

Let me just say that when I first smelled the vinegar, I thought it would be PERFECT drizzled on a salad or used to roast winter squash and root vegetables. As for the pear, I was pretty excited to try that one. Apparently this variety has to be hand-pollinated, and therefore Frog Hollow Farms, where this pear originates, is one of only commercial growers of the pear. Pretty cool, huh? As for the taste, it’s a lot like a traditional green pear, but the flavor is more buttery, almond-y, mildly citrus-y, and…white wine-ish. Really! That’s what it reminded me of! But that may be because so many white wines have pear-like aromas.

Anyway!

I used spring greens this time. I’ll be honest. I picked the purple lettuce out. SO not a fan of the purple! But after I picked it all out, I greatly enjoyed this salad as well. 🙂 Only differences between this version and my previous Harvest Salad are that I used the warren pear instead of an apple, honey balsamic instead of regular balsamic+evoo, and spring greens instead of the fancy mix. Oh, and I nixed the butternut squash since I didn’t feel like messing with it.

Yuuuuummm.

One response to “Revisit

  1. I just got my box a few days ago..it was sitting in the office forever!! So the pear was kind of shot by the time it reached me. I can’t wait to try the rest of the goodies, though- especially that maple syrup!

Leave a Reply

