Pumpkin Drop Cookies

These, my friends, are the cookies that defined my college career. I first found the recipe for these in my mom’s Better Homes and Gardens cookbook while in a pumpkin-craving stupor some time in high school. I made them frequently during college and shared them with just about everyone, and I am determined that by the time I am old and white (not grey. I’m a redhead) that I will have this recipe memorized.

I’ve made them with margarine, whole wheat flour, puree that my roommate harvested from a fresh pumpkin, sucanat, flax… Every time they come out amazing and cake-like. Here I will share how I made this current batch.

Pumpkin Drop Cookies
Adapted from Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook

  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg (I grated mine from a whole numeg)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, softened (I let mine sit on the counter all day)
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar (I like using sucanat when making them for myself, since they taste a bit less sweet with the sucanat, but the flavor is richer with the brown sugar, and the texture is more spot-on with brown sugar as well. I used brown sugar today since I didn’t have enough sucanat on hand)
  • 1 “flax egg” (1 tbsp ground flax+3 tbsp warm water mixed together and set aside for about 5 minutes)
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  • (1 cup raisins and 1/2 cup walnuts are optional. I don’t think I’ve ever included them)

Preheat oven to 375.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

In a separate, larger bowl, beat the butter and sugar together until it looks creamy. Add the vanilla and “flax egg” and beat until combined. Then add the pumpkin and beat some more.

Carefully add in the four mixture into the wet mixture and beat gently until everything is just combined. You don’t want to over-beat these.

If using walnuts or raisins, now is the time to fold them in.

Using a spoon, drop dollops of cookie dough on a greased cookie sheet keeping about a 2 inch clearance between cookies. Bake for about 8-12 minutes.

Makes about 24 (not including raisins and walnuts)

Mmmmm….

Leave a Reply

