Overnight Oats

So what happens when you mix all this together in a bowl and let it sit in the fridge all night?

You get Pumpkin Overnight Oats!

(No, it ain’t pretty, but it’s tasty!)

Basically all you do is mix oats and various liquids (plus whatever flavorings you want) together and allow the mixture to soak overnight (or at least 30 minutes) in the fridge. No cooking required! Some people nuke it in the morning to take the chill off, but I like mine cold. It’s like a chunky pudding! I especially like mine topped with granola for crunch, but sadly I was out.

This one is largely based off Angela‘s Pumpkin Gingerbread Vegan Overnight Oats, but I de-veganized it with the addition of yogurt.

My mix has roughly (because I eyeball just about everything these days):

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup plain nonfat strained yogurt (for more protein, since my almond milk has practically no protein)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk (probably would have chosen a more natural option of alternative milk had I not been so excited over the fact that it was $1.25. Live and learn)
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup (grade B tastes best!)
  • 1/2 tbsp blackstrap molasses (FULL of nutrients!)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (I used a mix I made myself of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger, and allspice)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla bean paste

While this is good, my personal favorite version of overnight oats is Overnight Oats in a Jar, specifically oats+yogurt+milk+banana in a peanut butter or Nutella jar (a jar that only has about a tbsp of nut butter residue all over the inside). Yummm!

All this oat talk has me hankerin’ for some steel cut oats. I think I may go mix myself up a batch for tomorrow’s breakfast!

How do you like your oats? Any particular toppings you like?

One response to “Overnight Oats

  1. I love overnight oats with lemon curd and craisins. They rehydrate in the morning. Pretty tasty 🙂

Leave a Reply

