Buzz

The blog world is abuzz with the FoodBuzz festival this weekend, and instead of living it up with food blog nerds in San Francisco, I’m stuck in Plainview, TX with this.

It’s a good thing I like Chicken with Aparagus, Red Pepper, and Balsamic Vinegar, or I might be bitter.

(Grrrrr!)

Next year. Next year I will be there!

This was perhaps the first dish I learned to make once I was on my own in my first apartment. It’s tasty, quick, colorful nutritious, simple… only drawback is the lack of complex carbohydrates from a grain/starch component makes it behave like AIR in my stomach and I find myself starving an hour later.

I don’t know what I’m saying, I ate small portions and ate it with brown basmati rice. I probably just wasn’t eating enough.

But let me point out also that I used Rosie’s Organic Air Chilled Chicken Thighs in this since I was able to snatch it for $1/lb (I know, right?!), and I never thought I could actually buy into certain brands of chicken TASTING better, but this one certainly did! Makes me glad that I have a Rosie’s whole fryer chicken in my freezer right now!

On a different note, it was brought to my attention today how good Edgar and I have it for young newlyweds. Unlike many couples our age, we can afford to live in this house, drive two vehicles, and make trips to Lubbock once or twice a month. Rather than whine about we don’t have (laptops, ulimited-or any, in my case-text capabilities, a  flat panel TV, etc) we can enjoy what God has given us and be good stewards of His gifts. For that reason, I’m challenging myself something that Kath implemented several years back. I’m budgeting that between now and Thanksgiving that Edgar and I spend only $150 on groceries total. And that includes the Thanksgiving dinner we are hosting for our friends next weekend. I’ll be sure to share my grocery purchases, so no cheating! 😉 It should prove exciting.

3 responses to “Buzz

  1. What a great challenge! I’ll be happy with getting my boyfriend to eat healthier meals without complaining and then I’d like to take on that challenege as well.

  2. Pingback: Giving Thanks (and all around the same table!) | Turning Over a New Leaf

  3. Pingback: Celebrations | Turning Over a New Leaf

Leave a Reply

