Thanksgiving Grocery Challenge, Shopping Trip #1

This evening kicked off my first installment of my Thanksgiving grocery challenge. For this challenge, we are budgeting ourselves to $150 spent on groceries between now and Thanksgiving, including the money I spend hosting an early Thanksgiving dinner for my friends. This will require us to eat down our pantry, freezer, and generally be more careful with our resources.

Anyway! Here’s what I got!

  • Bananas
  • Frozen green beans
  • Heavy whipping cream
  • Dark corn syrup
  • Pomegranate juice
  • Evaporated milk
  • Organic Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes
  • Butter-flavored Crisco (Goodness knows how I tried to avoid ever buying vegetable shortening, but apparently this is the only way to get stiff decorator’s icing)
  • Dark brown sugar (is it obvious that I’ll be baking, yet?)
  • Naturally More peanut butter
  • Cream cheese
  • Sweet Potato
  • Garlic
  • Sliced mushrooms
  • 2 lbs of carrots
  • Powdered sugar
  • Cranberries
  • Dried thyme leaves
  • 9-grain Italian loaf
  • Fresh sage

Total bill? $39.14!

(Remaining: $110.86)

My initial budget was $60 for this trip, and in all honesty I did not get everything on my list. I still need to get about four things from United tomorrow, including a turkey (which I read somewhere was on sale for 30-something cents per pound!), and I purposely didn’t buy yet the items that could have waited until next Friday, but so far so good!

One response to “Thanksgiving Grocery Challenge, Shopping Trip #1

  1. Wow crazy 🙂 I’m inspired haha

Leave a Reply

