Celebrations

This past weekend has been one of celebration.

First, we spent the weekend in Edgar’s hometown of Canadian celebrating the 25th anniversary/vow renewal of his parents. We hit the road for our three-hour-drive at 5:15 AM on Saturday morning, and naturally we stopped for breakfast at Waffle House in Amarillo.

Good morning, eggs and cheese. The cinnamon-raisin toast with apple butter is what really won me over.

I actually am NOT a morning person by any stretch of the imagination, but I really love early morning road trips, because then (if I’m awake) I can see this…

Unfortunately I don’t have any more pictures because I accidentally brought the wrong battery charger on the trip. Oh well.

Secondly, Edgar’s and my first wedding anniversary was Sunday! It was our day to travel back to Plainview, so it was rather low-key. We decided to wait until we visit the Metroplex this coming weekend to celebrate for real. But we honored the day be stopping in Amarillo for some window shopping and dinner at On the Border. It’s so crazy to think that we’ve been married for a whole year! Time does fly. 🙂

Now, since I’m visiting family in the DFW area for Thanksgiving (leaving tomorrow!), I have no reason to go to the grocery store between now and Thanksgiving. So here’s the last of my loot before Thanksgiving and a final tally of my $150 Thanksgiving Grocery Challenge!

And the final tally is…

$156.88.

Soo I went over by a little. But I do believe I really accomplished something here in reminding ourselves to be thankful for what we have and be responsible with our resources, especially since I typically spend around $300/month for groceries. And it is true that we ate out 2-3 times a week, and this past weekend all of our meals in Canadian were covered by someone else, so really a more accurate challenge would consider those factors.

Nonetheless, like the Pilgrims, who suffered harsh winter with next-to-nothing and then the following harvest gave thanks for plenty with an epic feast, I plan to hit up Whole Paycheck Foods this weekend! And you’re sure to see the results of that. 😉

I will leave you with some pictures of our wedding! All were taken by Lissa Anglin!

 

3 responses to “Celebrations

  1. Your wedding photos are GORGEOUS!!! Nice job with your challenge!

  2. Gorgeous, gorgeous wedding photos!!!

    Too bad about bringing the wrong camera charger. But at least you still had a good time. Who knows, it could have been nice not worrying about having to snap pictures of everything and just enjoying them moment instead. 😛

  3. Hi, new reader here. 🙂 Beautiful wedding photos. I love looking at wedding pictures. Did you get married recently?

Leave a Reply

