Entertaining Angels

 

It’s not every day that you receive gratitude for what you do for other people. So it meant a lot to me when I received this flower arrangement for hosting my Saturday night dinners every weekend.

IMG_8422-1

I’ve mentioned my Saturday night dinners before. I prefer not to blog about them too much because I like to be as undistracted and available to my friends as possible.

IMG_8456-1 

I’ve explained the origination of these dinners before.

Edgar and I were feeling lonely and purposeless last Spring.

Then one Sunday during Sunday school, our minister explained that we needed to offer something back to God and others, and not be stale and stagnant in the Body of Christ, taking everything and giving nothing in return.

I enjoyed cooking and hosting people at my house, and I had classmates that I wanted to get to know better. Thus, the Saturday night dinner was born.

IMG_8457-1

I never expected it to take off like it did. I was expected it to last through the summer, while schedules were wide open and socialization opportunities were limited. But “demand” extended into the fall semester, and now into the spring, strong as ever.

This past weekend we had 10 people at our house, including a friend who lives in Alaska and was only in Texas for a short time. News spread of Greg’s visit to our part of the state, and Jarrod and JennyBeth traveled from an hour away to come join in the festivities and catch up with Greg.

They came bearing flowers.

 IMG_8467-1

I’ve received some minor criticisms to this. Namely, why am I spending my resources hosting these dinners for friends and not expecting anything in return?

This is why:

Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

– Matthew 25:34-40

And…

Keep on loving one another as brothers and sisters. Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.

– Hebrews 13:1-2

 

IMG_8471-1

And I have certainly received something in return. Something more than gratitude and pretty flowers. I’ve received friendship and purpose.

 

(I hope you enjoyed my flower pictures. I’ve been playing with my new macro filter!)

2 responses to “Entertaining Angels

  1. Sometimes the greatest ministry a “student” can do is joining other students for a meal in which no obligation falls on the attendees, making it laid-back, relaxed, and a time to minister to each other in community.

    If i were in your neck of the woods still, I would totally join y’all because, well, i have no social life here 😦

  2. Your dinners are wonderful and I would do the same thing if I were in your shoes. My schedule doesn’t allow for my fiance and myself to eat dinner together most of the time, let alone others, but someday soon 🙂

    You’re flowers are beautiful! My two absolute favorites in one vase!

Leave a Reply

